CSE News

CSE Elections and Awards

Charlotte Haug received the CSE Award for Meritorious Achievement.
Charlotte Haug received the CSE Award for Meritorious Achievement.

Results of the elections for the 2013– 2014 CSE Board of Directors were announced at the Annual Meeting. Angela Cochran, of the American Society of Civil Engineers, was elected vice president; Michael Fitzgerald, of the American Osteopathic Association, was elected secretary; and Sarah Tegan, of the American Chemical Society, was elected a director. Michael Friedman, of the American Meteorological Society, was appointed by the Board to fill the director’s position formerly held by Angela Cochran. The new Board members join continuing members President Heather Goodell, PresidentElect Tim Cross, Treasurer Michael Clarke, Treasurer-Elect May Piotrowski, Past President Kenneth Heideman, and Director Jennifer Fleet. Patricia K Baskin, Editor-in-Chief of Science Editor; Amanda Ferguson, Web Editor; and David Stumph, President of the Resource Center for Associations and executive director of CSE, are ex officio members of the Board. Andrew Van Wasshnova is the current Resource Center liaison to the CSE Board.

Poster winner Remya Namblar, with her poster on author guidelines of international journals.
Poster winner Remya Namblar, with her poster on author guidelines of international journals.

The Council’s highest award, the Award for Meritorious Achievement, was presented to Charlotte Haug, from The Journal of the Norwegian Medical Association, for her work with COPE. Winners of the CSE Distinguished Service Awards were Dana M Compton, National Academy of Sciences; Norman Grossblatt, The National Academies; Leslie E Neistadt, Journal of Athletic Training; Caroline M Simpson, Natural Resources Canada, Canadian Forest Service; and Diane Sullenberger, National Academy of Sciences. Angela Cochran, American Society of Civil Engineers, received the CSE Certificate of Appreciation.

The poster exhibit showcased several outstanding posters detailing research projects in areas of publication. The 2013 poster winner was Remya Namblar, Managing Editor, Cactus Communications. Remya’s poster was titled “How Complete and Clear Are Author Guidelines of International English-Language Journals?” She won complimentary registration to the 2014 Annual Meeting in San Antonio.